Southland Academy Foundation

The Southland Foundation operates as a not-for-profit charitable organization incorporated under federal and state laws as a 501 c (3) tax-exempt status. The Foundation is organized to promote and support Southland Academy, Inc. by providing resources to ensure quality educational opportunities for our students in areas including supplementation of teachers salaries, student scholarship, capital improvements, and other worthwhile endeavors of the school. The Southland Foundation Board of Directors oversees and manages the school's endowment fund, as well as, the Venida T. and Thomas F. Layfield Scholarship, the Rose Ann Dupree Christian Heritage Scholarship, the Madeline Anne Wildes Scholarship, the Reagan Weston Weaver Scholarship, and the Ray Scholarship. 
1. Annual Giving Fund

Southland's Annual Giving Fund is established to provide opportunities for funding that would otherwise come from tuition revenue. Money raised as a result of annual giving produces revenue to assure that our students continue to be prepared in the areas of academics, technology, arts, and athletics. Income from this fund gives our school a new source to support high priority needs, again reducing the dependency on tuition income.
2. Endowment Fund

Growth of the Endowment Fund is essential to ensure Southland's ability to provide for expanding needs while controlling costs. The Endowment Fund is our school's "savings account" in which the principle is maintained in perpetuity, with only the income generated being used for restricted and unrestricted purposes. Using the Endowment Fund income to supplement needs provides two benefits: Southland can provide more competitive faculty salaries while keeping tuition lower. The fund also positions Southland to make annual facility improvements while avoiding the need and expense of long-term financing.
3. Memorial and Honorary Donations

Memorial and honorary contributions can be made to the Southland Foundation throughout the year. Contributions may also be made to the Venida T. and Thomas F. Layfield Scholarship, the Rose Ann Dupree Christian Heritage Scholarship, the Madeline Anne Wildes Scholarship, the Ray Scholarship, and the Reagan Weston Weaver Scholarship. 

Thank you to our contributors!

 Thank you to all of our Southland family members, alumni, grandparents, and friends for helping us in our efforts to reach our goal of $120,000.00 last year. We sincerely appreciate those of you who have already contributed to the 2020-2021 Annual Fund. If you have not yet made your contribution, please consider making a donation on one of the giving levels. We need your support to reach our goal!

                             "Your Gift Creates The Path To Our Success" 

Southland Foundation 2020-2021 Board of Directors

Chairman- Ed Shattles
Vice-Chair- Will Easterlin
Secretary- Patricia Fennessy
Treasurer- George Torbert
Justin Arnold, John Davis, Kendall Dragoin, Terence Duncan, William Harris, Bryan McMichael, Danny Minick, 
Charles Pryor, Brian Simmons, Rhett Simmons, and Lewis Webb. 

Administration-  Larry Collins, Headmaster; Melanie Mathis, Director of Development